Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Leblogducorps
Leblogducorps
Publicité
Archives
11 janvier 2009

Eyeborg/Rob Spence Bionic

http://eyeborg.blogspot.com/

"I am a filmmaker who lost an eye so naturally I decided to modify my prosthetic eye into a video camera. I am ~not~ a lifecaster. I will use the eye-cam the same way I use a video camera now - or the same way any filmmaker would use a camera enabled cell phone. I work as a director and producer in Toronto, Canada and I have had my work on Discovery, The CBC (Canadian Broadcast Corporation), Vision, and Space TV. Currently, I am in development on a documentary about how video and humanity intersect escpecially with regards to surveillance. Appropriately, I am retro-fitting my prosthetic eye to become a wireless video camera".


A lot of people ask me if I am going to restore vision with my Bionic Eye. The answer is no, not right now but maybe later.

I am not restoring vision, I'm just modifying my prosthetic eye into a video camera with the same capabilities as a modern cell phone. I can stream the footage, save it to a hard-drive, or put it in my documentary film called Eye 4 an Eye.


Having one eye is almost as good as having two. Its not really that different except my squash game is a little off and you really have to check your blind spot carefully when you are changing lanes in traffic. I don't really need to restore any vision in my right eye....socket.

Here is a woman who lost vision completely and is getting sight restored. Its only rudimentary but its getting there.


Linda Moorfoot explains what its like:

"When I go to the grandkids' hockey game or soccer game I can see which direction the game is moving in. I can shoot baskets with my grandson, and I can see my granddaughter dancing across the stage. It's wonderful."

Check out an article about Linda and HER bionic eye here.

She uses a camera that is mounted to glasses. For many people who are blind, they have lost their eyes and need prosthetics for aeshetic reasons. What Steve Mann and I are working on could have applications for these people. And stay tuned for how Steve will help me watch 3D movies again with his cross eye-tap technology.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité